As of January 1, 2014, minimum wage in Nevada is is either $8.25 or $7.25 depending on health care benefits.
(article continues below)
Nevada is one of 45 states that have enacted minimum wage laws. The minimum wage in Nevada is $8.25 if the company does not offer health insurance benefits. If the company does have a health plan, the minimum wage is $7.25.
Nevada is the only state with this type of two-tiered minimum wage requirement based on health insurance. The background is that Nevada voters passed constitutional amendments in 2004 and 2006 that allowed Nevada employers to pay $1 per hour less "if the employer provides health benefits." However, a 2014 class-action lawsuit alleges that the state government and Nevada businesses are illegally using the healthcare benefits provision to avoid paying the higher minimum wage.
According to 2012 US Bureau of Labor Statistics data, Nevada has 23,000 minimum wage workers, equating to 3.2 percent of the state's hourly workforce.
Please realize that the Nevada minimum wages cited above may have changed since we posted this minimum wage information. State minimum wages can change because new laws are enacted or because old laws contained scheduled increases. You should also be aware that state law often exempts particular company types, occupations and industries. To get the latest minimum wages for Nevada, visit www.dol.gov.
Last Updated: June 27, 2014.
Need to find minimum wages by state? Just browse our minimum wages information pages: