Maine is one of 45 states that have enacted minimum wage laws. The minimum wage in Maine is $.25 greater than the current Federal minimum wage rate of $7.25.
There are a number of exemptions to the Maine minimum wage. The following types of employees may not be eligible for minimum wage in Maine:
- Most individuals employed in agriculture;
- Many employees whose earnings are from sales commissions;
- Taxicab drivers;
- Many camp counselors, junior counselors or counselors-in-training;
- People who catch fish or work in farming of marine life;
- Many switchboard operators at public telephone exchanges;
- Many home workers not supervised or controlled and who buy raw materials and complete articles for sale;
- Dependent members of an employer's family; and
- Executive, administrative or professional employees with a salary of at least $455.00 weekly.
Please realize that the Maine minimum wages cited above may have changed since we posted this minimum wage information. State minimum wages can change because new laws are enacted or because old laws contained scheduled increases. You should also be aware that state law often exempts particular company types, occupations and industries. To get the latest minimum wages for Maine, visit www.dol.gov.
Last Updated: June 27, 2014.
Need to find minimum wages by state? Just browse our minimum wages information pages: