Michigan Minimum Wage
What are Minimum Wages in Michigan?
What's the minimum wage in Michigan? For entrepreneurs and small business owners with employees, it's important to know whether your state has a minimum wage law. Information on minimum wages can be tough to find so we've done the research for you. Here's the minimum wage for Michigan.
As of January 1, 2021, minimum wage in Michigan is $9.65.
Michigan is one of 45 states that have enacted minimum wage laws. The Michigan minimum wage law applies to businesses with 2 or more employees. The minimum wage in Michigan is $2.40 more than the current Federal minimum wage rate of $7.25.
Increases in the Michigan minimum wage date back to September 1, 2014, when the Michigan minimum wage increased to $8.15. Additional increases were scheduled for subsequent years: to $8.50 on January 1, 2016; to $8.90 on January 1, 2017; and finally to $9.25 on January 1, 2018. Subsequent legislation continued the trend of increasing the minimum wage, getting it to the current rate of $9.65 per hour.
Please realize that the Michigan minimum wages cited above may have changed since we posted this minimum wage information. State minimum wages can change because new laws are enacted or because old laws contained scheduled increases. You should also be aware that state law often exempts particular company types, occupations and industries. To get the latest minimum wages for Michigan, visit www.dol.gov.
Last Updated: January 4, 2021.
Need to find minimum wages by state? Just browse our minimum wages information pages:
Share this article
Additional Resources for Entrepreneurs
We greatly appreciate any advice you can provide on this topic. Please contribute your insights on this topic so others can benefit.