New Jersey Minimum Wage
What are Minimum Wages in New Jersey?
What's the minimum wage in New Jersey? For entrepreneurs and small business owners with employees, it's important to know whether your state has a minimum wage law. Information on minimum wages can be tough to find so we've done the research for you. Here's the minimum wage for New Jersey.
As of January 1, 2021, minimum wage in New Jersey is $12.00.
New Jersey is one of 45 states that have enacted minimum wage laws.
The minimum wage in New Jersey is currently $4.75 more than the current Federal minimum wage rate of $7.25. Connecticut and Oregon are the only other two states that have the $12.00 per hour rate in place for 2021, although some states have a higher minimum wage.
The Nevada minimum wage rate has historically been adjusted annually based on cost of living changes, as measured by the Consumer Price Index (CPI). But the New Jersey Legislature can make other increases if there is enough support.
Please realize that the New Jersey minimum wages cited above may have changed since we posted this minimum wage information. State minimum wages can change because new laws are enacted or because old laws contained scheduled increases. You should also be aware that state law often exempts particular company types, occupations and industries. To get the latest minimum wages for New Jersey, visit www.dol.gov .
Last Updated: January 4, 2021.
Need to find minimum wages by state? Just browse our minimum wages information pages:
Share this article
Additional Resources for Entrepreneurs
We greatly appreciate any advice you can provide on this topic. Please contribute your insights on this topic so others can benefit.