Rhode Island Minimum Wage
What are Minimum Wages in Rhode Island?
What's the minimum wage in Rhode Island? For entrepreneurs and small business owners with employees, it's important to know whether your state has a minimum wage law. Information on minimum wages can be tough to find so we've done the research for you. Here's the minimum wage for Rhode Island.
As of January 1, 2021, minimum wage in Rhode Island is $11.50.
Rhode Island is one of 45 states that have enacted minimum wage laws. The minimum wage in Rhode Island is $4.25 greater than the current Federal minimum wage rate of $7.25.
Rhode Island has steadily increased its minimum wage over the past decade.
In 2013, Rhode Island's state legislators agreed to raise the minimum wage from $7.75 to $8.00 per hour, effective Jan. 1, 2014. A number of increases followed.
More recently, Rhode Island's Senate passed legislation that could get the state's minimum wage up to $15.00 per hour by 2025.
There are 1,0000 minimum wage workers in Rhode Island, according to 2012 US Bureau of Labor Statistics data. That equates to 3.40 percent of the hourly workforce.
Please realize that the Rhode Island minimum wages cited above may have changed since we posted this minimum wage information. State minimum wages can change because new laws are enacted or because old laws contained scheduled increases. You should also be aware that state law often exempts particular company types, occupations and industries. To get the latest minimum wages for Rhode Island, visit www.dol.gov.
Last Updated: January 4, 2021.
Need to find minimum wages by state? Just browse our minimum wages information pages:
Share this article
Additional Resources for Entrepreneurs