South Carolina Minimum Wage
What are Minimum Wages in South Carolina?
What's the minimum wage in South Carolina? For entrepreneurs and small business owners with employees, it's important to know whether your state has a minimum wage law. Information on minimum wages can be tough to find so we've done the research for you. Here's the minimum wage for South Carolina.
As of January 1, 2021, South Carolina is one of five states that do not have a minimum wage law.
Other states that do not have a minimum wage law are Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee.
As of January 1, 2014, the Federal minimum wage rate is $7.25. Most South Carolina employers pay that rate because of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
South Carolina state legislators have toyed with establishing a state minimum wage. A bill under consideration in 2014 would have set the minimum wage to $8.25, tied the rate to the federal minimum wage, and then adjusted the state minimum wage based on inflation rates. South Carolina did not move forward with this.
According to data from the 2012 US Bureau of Labor Statistics, there are 59,000 minimum wage workers in South Carolina, representing 5.40 percent of the hourly workforce.
Please realize that the South Carolina minimum wages cited above may have changed since we posted this minimum wage information. State minimum wages can change because new laws are enacted or because old laws contained scheduled increases. You should also be aware that state law often exempts particular company types, occupations and industries. To get the latest minimum wages for South Carolina, visit www.dol.gov .
Last Updated: January 4, 2021.
Need to find minimum wages by state? Just browse our minimum wages information pages:
Share this article
Additional Resources for Entrepreneurs