Vermont Minimum Wage
What are Minimum Wages in Vermont?
What's the minimum wage in Vermont? For entrepreneurs and small business owners with employees, it's important to know whether your state has a minimum wage law. Information on minimum wages can be tough to find so we've done the research for you. Here's the minimum wage for Vermont.
As of January 1, 2021, minimum wage in Vermont is $11.75 per hour, up from $10.96 per hour in 2020.Update
Vermont is one of 45 states that have enacted minimum wage laws. Vermont minimum wage law applies to businesses with 2 or more employees. The minimum wage in Vermont is $4.50 greater than the current Federal minimum wage rate of $7.25.
The state ties its minimum wage increases to changes in the Consumer Price Index but also occasionally implements specified rate changes.
For example, in 2014, Vermont adopted as series of future scheduled minimum wage increases: to $9.15 on January 1, 2015, to $9.60 on January 1, 2016, to $10.00 on January 1, 2017, and to $10.50 on January 1, 2018. Subsequently, starting in 2019, the Vermont minimum wage was to be increased by the smaller of five percent or the percentage increase of the Consumer Price Index.
According to 2012 US Bureau of Labor Statistics data, there were then 5,000 minimum wage workers in Vermont, representing 2.70 percent of the hourly workforce.
Please realize that the Vermont minimum wages cited above may have changed since we posted this minimum wage information. State minimum wages can change because new laws are enacted or because old laws contained scheduled increases. You should also be aware that state law often exempts particular company types, occupations and industries. To get the latest minimum wages for Vermont, visit www.dol.gov.
Last Updated: January 4, 2021.
Need to find minimum wages by state? Just browse our minimum wages information pages:
Share this article
Additional Resources for Entrepreneurs