Louisiana Minimum Wage
What are Minimum Wages in Louisiana?
What's the minimum wage in Louisiana? For entrepreneurs and small business owners with employees, it's important to know whether your state has a minimum wage law. Information on minimum wages can be tough to find so we've done the research for you. Here's the minimum wage for Louisiana.
As of January 1, 2021, Louisiana is one of five states that do not have a minimum wage law.
Other states that do not have a minimum wage law are Alabama, Mississippi, South Carolina and Tennessee.
The Federal minimum wage rate is $7.25. Most Louisiana businesses must pay this rate because of the national Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
Although many states are raising their minimum wage, Louisiana legislators don't seem likely to pass a new minimum wage soon. In April 2014, the Senate Labor Committee rejected a bill that would have allowed the state's voters to decide whether to require businesses to pay a minimum wage of $9.50 an hour. Small businesses would have been excluded. Similarly, the Louisiana House rejected an attempt to institute a minimum wage that was higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25.
Please realize that the Louisiana minimum wages cited above may have changed since we posted this minimum wage information. State minimum wages can change because new laws are enacted or because old laws contained scheduled increases. You should also be aware that state law often exempts particular company types, occupations and industries. To get the latest minimum wages for Louisiana, visit www.dol.gov.
Last Updated: January 4, 2021.
Need to find minimum wages by state? Just browse our minimum wages information pages:
Share this article
Additional Resources for Entrepreneurs