Mississippi Minimum Wage
What are Minimum Wages in Mississippi?
What's the minimum wage in Mississippi? For entrepreneurs and small business owners with employees, it's important to know whether your state has a minimum wage law. Information on minimum wages can be tough to find so we've done the research for you. Here's the minimum wage for Mississippi.
As of January 1, 2021, Mississippi is one of five states that do not have a minimum wage law.
Other states that do not have a minimum wage law are Alabama, Louisiana, South Carolina and Tennessee.
Mississippi's low minimum wage may be correlated in some way to the state's high poverty rate; according to the US Census Bureau, 19.6 percent of state residents lived at or below the poverty rate in 2019.
Looking back a bit, the number of minimum wage workers in Mississippi was about 45,000 in 2012, according to data from the United States Bureau of Statistics. Based on those numbers, the size of the state's minimum wage workforce ranked eighth in the country, with 6.4 percent of its hourly workers qualifying for minimum wage.
In the absence of any Mississippi minimum wage laws, those employees are subject to the Federal minimum wage. The Federal minimum wage currently stands at $7.25.
Please realize that the Mississippi minimum wages cited above may have changed since we posted this minimum wage information. State minimum wages can change because new laws are enacted or because old laws contained scheduled increases. You should also be aware that state law often exempts particular company types, occupations and industries. To get the latest minimum wages for Mississippi, visit www.dol.gov .
Last Updated: January 4, 2021.
Need to find minimum wages by state? Just browse our minimum wages information pages:
Share this article
Additional Resources for Entrepreneurs