Utah Minimum Wage
What are Minimum Wages in Utah?
What's the minimum wage in Utah? For entrepreneurs and small business owners with employees, it's important to know whether your state has a minimum wage law. Information on minimum wages can be tough to find so we've done the research for you. Here's the minimum wage for Utah.
As of January 1, 2021, minimum wage in Utah is $7.25.
Utah is one of 45 states that have enacted minimum wage laws. The minimum wage in Utah, which is currently lower than the minimum wage of 29 other states, is identical to the current Federal minimum wage rate of $7.25.
In 2014, Utah's proposed House Bill 73 would have raised the minimum wage from $7.25 to $10.25 per hour but it did not get enough support. Subseqent efforts to raise the minimum wage in Utah have also been defeated.
According to data from the 2012 US Bureau of Labor Statistics, there were at that time 37,000 minimum wage workers in Utah, representing 4.90 percent of the hourly workforce.
Please realize that the Utah minimum wages cited above may have changed since we posted this minimum wage information. State minimum wages can change because new laws are enacted or because old laws contained scheduled increases. You should also be aware that state law often exempts particular company types, occupations and industries. To get the latest minimum wages for Utah, visit www.dol.gov .
Last Updated: January 4, 2021.
Need to find minimum wages by state? Just browse our minimum wages information pages:
Share this article
Additional Resources for Entrepreneurs