West Virginia Minimum Wage
What are Minimum Wages in West Virginia?
What's the minimum wage in West Virginia? For entrepreneurs and small business owners with employees, it's important to know whether your state has a minimum wage law. Information on minimum wages can be tough to find so we've done the research for you. Here's the minimum wage for West Virginia.
As of January 1, 2021, minimum wage in West Virginia is $8.75.
West Virginia is one of 45 states that have enacted minimum wage laws.
West Virginia minimum wage laws apply to businesses with 6 or more employees. While the minimum wage in West Virginia was for many years equal to the Federal minimum wage rate of $7.25, that changed in April 2014 when West Virginia Governor Earl Tomblin signed a law that raised the minimum wage in West Virginia to $8.00, effective January 1, 2015.
A second increase occured on January 1, 2016, at which point the West Virginia minimum wage rose to $8.75 per hour, the current rate.
According to data from the 2012 US Bureau of Labor Statistics, there were then 26,000 minimum wage workers in West Virginia, representing 5.70 percent of the hourly workforce.
Please realize that the West Virginia minimum wages cited above may have changed since we posted this minimum wage information. State minimum wages can change because new laws are enacted or because old laws contained scheduled increases. You should also be aware that state law often exempts particular company types, occupations and industries. To get the latest minimum wages for West Virginia, visit www.dol.gov.
Last Updated: January 4, 2021.
Need to find minimum wages by state? Just browse our minimum wages information pages:
Share this article
Additional Resources for Entrepreneurs