Texas Minimum Wage
What are Minimum Wages in Texas?
What's the minimum wage in Texas? For entrepreneurs and small business owners with employees, it's important to know whether your state has a minimum wage law. Information on minimum wages can be tough to find so we've done the research for you. Here's the minimum wage for Texas.
As of January 1, 2021, minimum wage in Texas is $7.25.
Texas is one of 45 states that have enacted minimum wage laws. The minimum wage in Texas is identical to the current Federal minimum wage rate of $7.25 and has remained unchanged since 2010.
Some Texas employers are not required to pay minimum wage. In addition to national exemptions defined in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), Texas's minimum wage exemptions can include:
- Employment in, of or by religious, educational, charitable or nonprofit organizations
- Professionals, salespersons or public officials
- Certain youths and students
- Family members
- Amusement and recreational establishments
- Non-agricultural employers not liable for state unemployment contributions
- Dairying and production of livestock
- Sheltered workshops
There are 452,000 minimum wage workers in Texas, according to 2012 US Bureau of Labor Statistics data. That equates to 7.50 percent of the hourly workforce.
Please realize that the Texas minimum wages cited above may have changed since we posted this minimum wage information. State minimum wages can change because new laws are enacted or because old laws contained scheduled increases. You should also be aware that state law often exempts particular company types, occupations and industries. To get the latest minimum wages for Texas, visit www.dol.gov.
Last Updated: January 4, 2021.
Need to find minimum wages by state? Just browse our minimum wages information pages:
Share this article
Additional Resources for Entrepreneurs